amy is on the road

The Castle in the Mist - is here!

order

The Castle in the Mist Cover

In the tradition of Edward Eager and E.L. Konigsburg, a novel about the excitement—and the dangers—of wishing.

 

Tess and her brother, Max, are sent for the summer to their aunt’s sleepy village in the English countryside, where excitement is as rare as a good wifi signal. So when Tess stumbles upon an old brass key that unlocks an ornately carved gate, attached to a strangely invisible wall, she jumps at the chance for adventure. And the world beyond the gate doesn’t disappoint. She finds rose gardens, a maze made of hedges, and a boy named William who is just as lonely as she is.

But at William’s castle, strange things begin to happen. Carnival games are paid for in wishes, dreams seem to come alive, and then there's William's eerie warning: Beware of the hawthorn trees. A warning that chills Tess to the bone.

In a magical, fantasy world that blurs the line between reality and imagination, readers are left to wonder exactly what they’d wish for if wishes could come true. Perfect for fans of Half Magic and The Secret Garden—and for anyone who's ever wondered if magic is real.

 

Read more about The Castle in the Mist...

 

Best-selling author Amy Ephron talks to Bay Sunday’s host Kenny Choi about her new book for young readers, ‘The Castle In The Mist.’

CBS 5 San Francisco

Praise for The Castle in the Mist:

“Bursting with imagination and warmth, Amy Ephron’s first novel for young people is a magical book in all ways.”
—Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s

“This beautiful story’s quiet, peaceful tone nicely evokes both the serenity of country life and the haunting magic of the castle, and the emotional heft of Tess and Max’s separation from their parents, as well as their strong bond, keeps the tale firmly grounded in reality. Perfect for middle-graders who love classic fantasy.”
Booklist

“Rich description of the castle along with an elaborate map at the book’s beginning and an illustration at the end enhance the fantasy world….A sequel is suggested; beguiled readers will hope it happens.”
Kirkus Reviews

More Praise for The Castle in the Mist:

...Things I liked about this book is that it was very exciting and I never wanted to put it down. It was so good. Other things I liked about this book is it's very adventurous, and it's an amazing book. I didn't have anything I didn't like about it, it was just perfect.

goodreads

—Maggie Manwill
five stars

 

A near-perfect 9... This book defies gravity because it’s hard to put down!

time for kids

—TFK Kid Reporter Sarah-Blessing Tetedje

  • Show All
  • News
  • Stories
  • Books

amy ephron sitting

Contact Amy

 
Ethical Dilemma:

If you find the key to somebody’s gate,
does that mean you have the right to use it?

family friends

Kids, brothers, sisters, babies.
They make life worth living.

See More

Amy's Books

on the road           See Them All

Click on picture for larger image

Panel Example

This is an example of the panel position.